Practitioner Awards

Bill Pires New Practitioner Award:

The award is given to a RISHP pharmacist working in the health system setting who demonstrates professionalism and an interest in expanding the role of the pharmacist in patient care who has less than 5 years of service in health system pharmacy. The award is a one year paid membership to ASHP or if the recipient is already an ASHP member, the equivalent value to spend in the ASHP Bookstore for educational materials of their choice. The award has been generously funded by Leslie Pires, Pharm.D., MS.

Student Awards

Louis P. Jeffrey Student Scholarship:

This award was established in 1996 as an honor to Louis P. Jeffrey. The award is given annually to a pharmacy student who demonstrates leadership qualities and involvement/participation in professional society activities. The award is a cash scholarship.

Guidelines for scholarship:

  • URI Pharmacy Student
  • Strong Academic Standing
  • Demonstrated professional commitment
  • Demonstrated leadership qualities through organizational activities

The essay, along with a listing of organizational activities, must be submitted by December 1st to the current president-elect of RISHP. The RISHP Board of Directors and Awards Committee choose the award recipient. A scholarship in the amount of $250.00 will be presented at the Annual Installation Dinner held in January of every year.

Gilberti Student Scholarship:

The Gilberti Award was started in 1970 to honor Louis Gilberti, a pharmacist at the State Hospital who was also past president and a very active member of RISHP. This award goes to a University of Rhode Island student interested in hospital pharmacy with high scholastic standing. The award recipient is chosen by URI faculty.

Bob Goulet Student Award:

This scholarship was established as a tribute to Robert Goulet who at the time of his untimely death was president-elect for the Board of Directors of RISHP. Award goes to a URI student, interested in hospital pharmacy with high scholastic standing.

The award is given to a pharmacy student with the equivalent of a P3 standing who shows enthusiasm for practice in the health system setting and the passion for patient care that Bob demonstrated in his practice. The nominee must submit a 1-2 page essay on their vision of the future of health system pharmacy practice.

Guidelines for scholarship

  • Rhode Island resident or URI pharmacy student of at least P2 standing
  • Demonstrates professional commitment and leadership qualities through being involved in organizational activities
  • Must submit a 1 – 2 page essay on “The Future of Health-System Pharmacy”.

Award Nomination

For all award nominations, excluding Pharmacist of the Year please send a letter of nomination to

For website issues issues, please click here

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software